Aim for Excellence

There is an epidemic at work. It is called employee (dis)engagement. I’ve lost count of how many young professionals share with me that they don’t like their jobs. If you are on this boat, I wish I could tell you something that gives you hope, tell you that it gets better. But  I’m afraid I can’t. I cannot teach what I don’t know, and I don’t know the secret to enjoying your job.

What I will do is make a call to every individual worker out there: “Please. Let’s work together to make work more enjoyable.”  We are all people and organizations are made up of people.

We spend a lot of time at work. So let’s make it count. Enough putting a mask when we walk into the office each morning. Enough whispering and gossiping (this just makes things worse). Let’s compete fiercely. But let’s do so against ourselves. Be the best “you” you can be.

Work will be meaningful when we take charge of our own individual situation – whether we are the CEO or a frontline worker.

Every moment, aim for excellence.

This will have a great ripple effect. Smiles will be genuine (not hopeful pretence). Employees will think highly of each other (not try to undermine them). The world will feel the impact: People everywhere fulfilling their calling, reaching their highest potential.

